Conductor Library Roadmap

Good evening, congrats on your recent acclaim. I am currently evaluating the holochain project for use as a persistence layer below a generalized structured information application.

I understand that you are currently doing a transition of sorts. I’ve watched the recent AMA and scanned through the forums and docs. I’m curious if you can comment on conductor libraries for the major OSes.

Where are they on the roadmap?
Have you done any proof of concept work?

Thanks

1 Like

Bumping this up. Is there someone on the team that could speak to the question of conductor libraries?

Hi @realfritz … I’m peripheral to the core team… I used to work for Holo and still work as a professional Holochain developer, I can perhaps help.

Your comment about “OSes”… would you like to be able to run the main holochain binary holochain (which is sometimes / contexts called the Conductor) on different operating systems?
It is currently possible to run it on Windows, Linux, or Mac, but Windows ONLY with wsl2 which is essentially because its like Linux on Windows.

There is separately something we call the conductor library, which is a way of interfacing with, and controlling, the Holochain conductor while it’s running.
Three such ways to do this are

• raw websocket requests via any library or language of your choice
  • from Javascript via the “holochain-conductor-api” (which should be renamed to indicate JS) https://github.com/holochain/holochain-conductor-api
  • from the command line via the hc dev tools binary hc sandbox call ...

Does that help? Further questions?

1 Like

Thanks for the response @Connoropolous. This helps to round out the picture.

Specifically though, I’m curious about conductor libraries for mobile devices (iOS, Android). This is a must-have for most applications and I’m having a hard time seeing how this is done with the current toolset or how this will be supported in the future.