Holochain storage app like Dropbox

I’m new to Holo and Holochain apps development, If I would like to create an app to simply upload/download files, is that something possible right now with Holochain? How much storage space could it have access to?

Thanks!

3 Likes

Yes this is a project that is in its infancy right now. More here: File Storage Zome

5 Likes

In response to how much storage space it could have access to… as much storage space as its users are willing to give it, divided by the resilience factor of the app + 1 (the amount of redundancy that each piece of data is expected to have, plus the original copy stored by the uploader, because for every file you upload, it’s still taking up space on your own machine). So let’s say we have ten users, each with 500 GB of storage. The resilience factor of the app is 2. How much storage do we collectively have?

500 * 10 / (2 + 1) = 1.67 TB

1.6 terabytes collectively. Which isn’t so much, considering each person chipped in almost a third of that. But you get massive redundancy, and you can share your uploads with others. There are other, possibly better ways to do this – you could chunk the data into pieces, then use some sort of error correction. This doesn’t result in any gains in storage space efficiency, but it does make the data way more resilient to hardware failures and offline nodes. That’s what a company called Cubbit is doing with their personal backup devices. It makes the data 50% bigger, but you can then drop down the resilience factor to 1. (Check out the technology page; scroll down to ‘Redundancy’.) So in that case:

500 * 10 / (1.5 + 1.5) = 1.67 TB
4 Likes

I just voiced some thoughts about file storage on Holochain over here. But it might be better to address the issue in this thread, since it is about the exact same topic.