Holochain concept confusion regarding internet usage

Hye, im new to holochain concept and still learning about it. I have a bit of confusion regarding the concept of holochain regarding the internet usage.

The question goes:
So, let say we have a DHT of A, B, C, and D nodes. A then uploads a picture into the DHT and the picture splits into shards and each of them stores the shards.
Now suddenly a new node, E entered the DHT. E then wants to see the picture uploaded by A. So E needs to download the picture from DHT.
At the same time, A, B, C, D must upload the shards from their device so E can be able to download it.
Hence, in term of internet usage, does A, B, C, and D used their internet quota to send their shards to E?
Forgive me if im wrong.

yes, they do, however, A, B, C, D are paid for their uptime in HoloFuel for the asset. Holochain will demand that uptime for nodes listed here is 95%!

1 Like

I worry your answer will create MORE confusion because youā€™re assuming that the Holochain app is being hosted on Holo, which may not be the case. Holochain and Holo are different (they just, confusingly, have exactly the same name, which IMO is and has always been a mistake that perpetuates precisely this kind of confusion). Holochain is the free, open-source framework for p2p apps, and Holo is an optional service for hosting.

@Najidnadri I actually donā€™t know the answer to your question. Hopefully someone else can help you better, but I can say a couple things. One, I donā€™t think itā€™s necessarily the case that the picture would be always be broken up. It might be that ā€œsharded,ā€ in this particular app, means that ā€˜Bā€™ is responsible for the hash neighborhood in which the picture was shared, so ā€˜Bā€™ holds the entire picture file, and ā€˜Cā€™ also holds a redundant copy. Or maybe there are other variations possible. Not sure. Also, Iā€™m confused by what you mean by ā€œinternet quota.ā€