Best approach for sharing and managing access to Personal Health Information

Hi all -

I’m really new to Holochain, but have just finished all the DevCamp 7 content after @bear kindly gave me access (and I have to say I was really inspired by all the work and effort that went into that, really amazing job).

I work for a healthcare non-profit in New Zealand, and want to build a small-scale proof of concept for PhD research I am conducting on decentralised technologies, and how they can be used in healthcare to support Data Sovereignty (especially Indigenous Data Sovereignty). The core requirements are:

• dynamic and detailed access control of a user’s data (who I share my data with)
  • logging and auditing of access (who has accessed my data and when).

The kind of basic workflow I have in mind is:

• Bob generates data which is posted to their source chain
  • This data is private and can only be accessed by Bob
  • Bob decides to share it with Dr Alice
  • Dr Alice can now access Bob’s data
  • Bob can withdraw that capability grant any time and stop Dr Alice’s access
  • Bob can view how Dr Alice has accessed their data.

There’s lots of other things I want to throw in here (connecting wearables/smart devices, segmenting health data by type - eg. medications vs diagnoses - so that access can be granted selectively to different kinds of data, and a ‘break glass’ access facility for emergencies) but the above is most of the basics.

I would be really grateful for any architectural or design advice from members of the community, since it seems there are a couple of different patterns which could achieve this.

For example, @e-nastasia in DevCamp 7 session 10 used sharing of health data as an example of using capability token to provide access to a users source chain. The big downside seems to be that this sharing will break if Bob’s device is offline.