A few questions in getting started with Holochain

Hi all,

I had a look through the documentation today and a brief look at the tutorials, so I’m completely new to this.

Say some data is collected and a subset of this data needs authenticated as current and accurate. How would you go about having a third party digitally sign it?

I’m thinking that for a web app the third party would need to register which would then create a node on the blockchain, a bit like the tutorial with the Alice and Bob nodes. The third party node would then be able to sign the data so it would show “verifed” or “authenticated” beside the relevant data. The user who’s data it is could then decide how much of their data they want to publicly display etc. I’m interested to know how exactly the digital signing process works on a web app like this.

For user privacy I wouldn’t like the third party to have access to all the data, only what they need to authenticate. I’m thinking multiple third parties may need access to specific parts of user data in order to validate or authenticate.

Does this sound like something suitable for Holochain?

Thanks in advance.

H0l0brain

1 Like

@H0l0brain apologies for not answering your question.

If you haven’t attended #events:virtual-hackalong which happens on weekly basis. I would recommend attending them, as well as checking previous sessions.

SessionVideos are within the SessionThread (#events:virtual-hackalong)

Reason I am request for you to participate in Hackalong for your questions will be a stimulating discussions and would recommend you Register them in the BackLog with @hedayat.

https://forum.holochain.org/t/discussion-backlog-virtual-hackalong/3226

Thank you for your reply, I’ll have a look into all this.

@H0l0brain assuming you are new to forum, it would be helpful for others as well as for your self to introduce yourself on the “Welcome Thread”.