We-Guild (needs help deciding whether to use Holochain, and how to get started)

@Guillermo posted this elsewhere, and I thought it deserved it’s own topic thread, so I’m copying it here:

Hi there,

I’ve come across the Holochain model when doing research for my start-up platform We-Guild, a p2p gifting social network that aims to become a multi-stake holder platform co-op

I am not technically literate myself so to be frank I find the whole thing a bit overwhelming. When reading the bit about what Holochain is good for it all sounds great for what I am trying to do so how do I take it from there? (As someone technically illiterate?) Thanks!

For some added context, Guillermo shared with me that he does have more specific questions, but for now his main priority is really just making We-Guild happen, and he’s wanting to hear arguments for/against using Holochain. If convinced to go ahead, then he’ll need help to know what is needed to proceed in that direction.

@Guillermo Even though you may be more in a general questioning mindset with Holochain, I think you will get more interesting responses if you also include your specific questions! I would love to hear more about what your specific needs are for a technological architecture to support your vision for We-Guild, and what your concerns/questions are about Holochain in that context.

Since you say you are not technically literate, you are definitely going to need developer support to move forward with building on Holochain :slight_smile: I can keep you in mind if I hear of developers who are looking for projects to contribute to and send them your way.

1 Like

This may be a good fit for what I am hoping to build here with registered thanks and third party redemptions to facilitate gratitude flow ecology.

6 Likes

Point taken Brooks. I’ll lay the questions/gaps by areas that I think of being most pertinent to We-Guild. Bear with me and please enlighten me about my misconceptions.