Updating the source code is going to create a new chain?

Hello, I’ve been reading the documentation and I get that one way hApps maintain security is to use a hash of the source code, it makes sense. But how something common like updating an app will happen? Every update I’ll lose the old chain?

1 Like

Connor of Sprillow here, I’ve been working on happs for a few years, and have maintained and developed Acorn https://github.com/h-be/acorn for 2 of them, and we’ve released many software updates to Acorn.

You’re technically right. That’s just a few considerations that make it not as bad as it seems.

(btw, maybe I can answer Managing updates and versions while I’m at it, since it seems to be the same)

The first place to start is separating out what the most important thing to have a hash of, for security purposes, is. The most fundamental thing to have the hash of is what are called the ‘validation rules’, since those are the thing central to the agreed upon definition of ‘data integrity’ for the purposes of the happ. The rest of the dna/zome source code is just api functions, and different ways of writing and reading to/from source chains and the DHT.

1. I have heard word that holochain core team is exploring the potential to make DNA hashes based on only validation rules + dna/zome configuration values. This would reduce how frequently these migrations of source chains and the DHT would need to happen. This is still speculative though, so this isn’t a solution (nor a complete solution anyways) for now.

2. User interface code is not included in the hash, therefore you can make user interface changes at will, without requiring users to migrate their source chains and the DHT. We do this sometimes with Acorn, where we publish a new version, but users keep their entire state without migrating.

3. When we need to make DNA changes:
    in Acorn, there are UX improvements we could make to the migration process, but haven’t yet.