Private keys system

Hi :slightly_smiling_face: I’m a student of the University of Bologna (Italy), we’ve started a new school project with the Holochain technology. We’re searching for a project examples or specific implementing documentation about the private keys system (eg. like wrote here: https://developer.holochain.org/docs/glossary/#public-key-cryptography). Could you kindly help us please?

Really many thanks!

Chris

hey, exciting to hear you’re using Holochain for your project! Could you tell me a bit more about your project and how it’s using public/private key cryptography? Then we can talk about what already exists in Holochain and what would need to be hand-built for your project.

Hi @pauldaoust :slight_smile: thanks for your reply!

We’re making a project to handle personal data with the Holochain technology. We’d like that a user can store its personal data in Holochain and decide who share them with (i.e. a fake hApp “Facebook”). Could you recommend us how could we reach this goal? Should we use only public entries (that allow anyone to view the content) or also private entry, where the “Facebook” ask the user to view its data and the user can allow or deny …? With the private entries however when a user is disconneted the “Facebook” will not be able to ask the data, right?

Really many thanks!

RIght, and that’s both a bad thing and a good thing – bad for UX but good for user agency :slight_smile: There are a few different patterns that balance privacy and availability of data:

• Private entries are the ultimate in privacy but require the user to be online if anyone else wants the data
  • Public data is accessible to everyone in the group