Is holochain the right fit for our app?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been evaluating a lot of the p2p DApp technologies out there, and Holochain looks by far the most promising and exciting! I’m currently developing a Personal Finance app for couples, and because of the private nature of the data (all your bank transactions, investments, assets) I want it to be a desktop/mobile app that uses a p2p database to store the data. I have a lot of experience building Cloud apps, so I want to be able to achieve the same things with a great user experience using a decentralised approach.

We’re building it in Electronjs/Reactjs for now using a SQLlite backend while we figure out the right p2p framework to plug in later. I have a bunch of general questions on the project/community in general I want to ask before we commit (I’m self-funding this project, so I can’t afford to go down the wrong path backing a technology that isn’t mature or hasn’t got enough traction) and also “how to/can it” questions which I’ll start with:

Requirements:

• For V1 will store a list of users bank accounts (either manually uploaded from bank statements or synced using Plaid) but later on needs to be able to store investments, assets and other financial data to provide a holistic view across the household finances
  • Needs to store the user’s data completely privately, however they need to be able to share data with their spouse or an advisor (i.e. Accountant) for specific bank accounts, and ideally also choosing from what date they share data from (i.e. I want to share my Wells Fargo Current Account transactions with my wife starting from 01/01/15 when we were married)
  • We need to be able to query the data quickly to build reports such as a report that shows spending for each category by month between a start and end date, something we can do currently using a relational SQLite database