Is Functional Programming a Thing?

[Warning: I am not a coder, just interested in the topic. So I don’t really know what I am talking about :wink: ]

Recently I stumbled across a presentation about the paradigm of Functional Programming.
Two important aspects of this coding approach are:

1. Write “clean functions”: You pass an input (or many) into the function and return an output - no calling or writing of global variables from inside the function, no “side-effects”, only the return value

2. Immutable Data: To avoid data being changed under your nose while running a function, you make all data storage immutable. E.g. instead of changing (overwriting) an element in an array, you create a copy with the updated element. To prevent lots of redundant copies of data, you only write new entries and use some clever tree-structure to reference all the most up-to-date data.

It sounded extremly Ceptr-ly to me. So I wanted to ask:

Is Functional Programming a thing with Holochain developers? And if not, should it be?

Would love to hear your thoughts!

Hi @jakob.winter there is a relationship between Category Theory and Functional Programming.

And I have seen some refer to Ceptr as “…a planetary distributed semantically rich functional reactive programming environment…AKA processing of immutable streams, which reminds me strongly of receptors.”

A great comment from @pospi on Mattermost: