HoloGrid - secure grid computing

I’ve had little experience with MapReduce but surely it would be possible to upload data to a DHT (ideally, a temporary DHT) to be processed by an arbitrary number of nodes, for many purposes. If the data can be processed entirely within a sandbox inside a hApp instance, I don’t see how you couldn’t validate it by setting a redundancy factor where multiple nodes process the same subset of data.

There will be a lot of underutilized computing power in the Holo network, this seems like a great opportunity for hosts to earn mutual credit for joining a grid.

4 Likes

I think the use case would be pretty tough considering the 4GB limit for in memory data in WASM. Also, it would be significantly less performant. Golem is an example of a company trying to accomplish this, and the practical needs for data processing are typically much more complicated. Also, typically there’s an expectation of privacy in your data. They are using a piece of hardware known as an SGX enclave to ensure the processor does not have the ability to view the users data.

One limit that I think has some other use cases is allowing zomes to take functions as inputs. So being able to provide a map-filter-reduce function to a zome might be interesting.

Anyways, I think it’s theoretically possible if a user wrote the logic into a public function, then uploaded the data to a DHT, then had a reward for each individual chunk being processed. Then I think you would take connected zomes, have a filter step to new entries, and lastly a reduce step to a final entry. I think the biggest issues would be performance and a lack of anonymity, but it would be interesting to see implemented.

2 Likes