HoloGo a Go/Baduk game app

I’m new to holochain development and am curious what possible benefits can be gained from building a board game app with a ranking system on holochain.

Also what would be more difficult on holochain? Like maybe timers?

If anyone else is working on a Go/baduk app I’d love to know. I know it’s more popular in asia.

Sounds like a fun idea! What benefits could be gained… I think the most pragmatic benefit is the fact that you aren’t dependent on the uptime of a central server and the potentially shaky business model that keeps it running — the app is the infrastructure :slight_smile:

Of course there are tradeoffs to consider, like the fact that the framework is still in development, and that it’s always been difficult for peers in a P2P network to find each other without a bit of centralisation.

Provably accurate timers would definitely be harder — one idea is that players could elect a ‘judge’ node that receives copies of the moves and timestamps them. I’m sure there are other ideas!

1 Like

@pauldaoust thanks for the response. I’ve been looking through a ton of holochain resources to try to come up with ways that I want to design happs. Turns out there was a dev camp on games GitHub - willemolding/generic-game-holochain: Checkers, tic-tac-toe, connect-4. These are all the same right? A framework for two player, turn based, perfect information games on Holochain.

I agree that not needing a central server is probably the main benefit. I never thought of judge nodes :slight_smile: