EntryHash vs EntryHashB64 in hashes exercise

Hello,

I’m working through the gym, thank you for the work that has been put into this. On exercise 2 there is a small mismatch between the code listing at https://holochain-gym.github.io/developers/basic/hashes/#exercise and the code in the repo at https://github.com/holochain-gym/developer-exercises/blob/master/basic/1.hashes/zomes/exercise/src/lib.rs

The web version has EntryHash, the code has EntryHashB64. Is this intentional? It looks like the code can be made to work either way. If the target audience is people new to Rust and new to Holochain, there is a little bit less Rust syntax for the first one, so that might be preferable.

Thanks again for all the resources. I’m still learning to navigate these forums so let me know if this is in the wrong place.

2 Likes

I was literally typing up a new thread draft on this topic last night but didn’t finish. I also ran into this exact issue, but once I solved it I was more curious about the following:

What are all the different hash types? (and) What is the purpose of each?

For example, I see HoloHash, EntryHash, HeaderHash, some are base 64… the documentation says a lot, but it can be hard to follow at times. I’d be curious to see a simple overview of all the different hash types that exist, what they do, how they are related, how they are different, and when to use each one.

1 Like

Those are good questions, did you get anywhere with them? From what I can tell, it’s complicated. I did some looking and came up with this.

HoloHash is the library used to create the various types of hashes. An EntryHash is the hash of the data itself. A HeaderHash points to a particular piece of metadata. The metadata contains information related to a particular entry.