Elemental Chat's weird bugs, eventual consistency, and you

So, as I wrote in the (currently not-yet-published) Dev Pulse this week, Elemental Chat has some weird bugs that only an engineer can love. I am an engineer and I love these bugs, because (a) they tell me that Holochain is working exactly as it should, and (b) it exposes some interesting properties of Holochain’s eventually consistent DHT that are worth unpacking.

Here’s how the bug manifests:

1. Alice sends a message. :small_airplane:
  2. Alice’s message appears in Bob’s UI. :smiley:
  3. Alice’s message disappears from Bob’s UI. :fearful:
  4. Alice’s message reappears in Bob’s UI. :thinking:

What’s happening here? Let’s take a look using a good ol’ sequence diagram (inputs and outputs have been simplified):