Article: Local-first software

This is a brilliant article. Talks about applications that combine the user sovereignty and offline-friendliness/robustness of local data (e.g., MS Office, Adobe Creative Suite) with the effortless collaboration potential and redundancy of cloud apps (like Google Docs and Trello). A lot of things are relevant to Holochain app designers too.

6 Likes

Love this comprehensive article! Would be super interesting to have a review of HoloChain’s current capabilities, graded according to the criteria the fine folks at Ink and Switch have developed.

There was recently a condensed version of the topic (written by some of the same people I believe) here:

The more I learn about CRDTs the more I want to understand how that system fits into HoloChain. There’s some new entrants in the community like @PekkaNikander that might want to partake in that discussion.

1 Like

CRDTs are a great and deep set of tools. Back in 2015, when I studied them, they were certainly among the most promising approach to offline-supporting collaborative editing. As the article states, OT (Operational Transformations) are apparently better for collaborative editing, while state based CRDTs are more akin to git and better preserve the history. There is also a rich literature on how to compact CRDT history, thereby preserving storage, but AFAIK nobody has worked out how to combine such compaction with cryptographically preserved history. (A nice Ph.D. topic, perhaps?)

Today GUN seems to be a popular community project, based on CRDTs.

What comes to data first, I’m definitely very old school.

I still have my own multi-homed and UPSed server in my cellar, with enough of disk space for all of my data, including all history and then some. It has been there for some 30 years, with the HW upgraded every 10 years or so. (Soon time to do that again.)