Anyone suggestion on Thinkpads?

Hi there,

I am a non-dev who got involved in the project as a HOT holder. Interest is growing to get some more technical skills and knowledge.

I want to buy a used Thinkpad to learn my first thing or two about programming and building with Holochain. I have been using Chromebooks for the past 4 years and they cripple me in playing around.

The choice (price-driven) is in the X series X220 to X260 or T series up to T450.
From a practical point of view working with Holochain is there anything you can suggest to me when buying this laptop?

I intend to have a dual boot Windows 10 and Ubuntu. Also here tips and suggestions are welcomed towards this being a good idea or alternative options that fit better the space I want to get involved in. (ic. HolochainEcosystem)

As an important extra, I am interested in how this would change if I want to use this machine also in terms of a port device. (though I have just a moderate yet unlimited 4G connection)

Thank you very much for your input,

DaYa

@hedayat
@Aryabhatta
@eduardo.moreira
I ping those who I know to be more technical and told me I could ping them in case :pray: :globe_with_meridians:

I can not suggest or recommend any brand or model since it is totally personal, I would suggest to filter brands and models by ordering this list for yourself:
1- Price
2- Performance(Solid HDD, RAM, CPU)
3- Weight
4- Monitor Size
5- Keyboard(full keyboard or not)

Then select the right OS (that I can here suggest linux) then you would be really close to your laptop name.

2 Likes

What has been suggested above by @hedayat has been very crisply laid out for your consideration.